Boulder Faculty Assembly Diversity Committee

Report of Activities Academic Year 2021-22

Andrea Feldman, Chair

April 21, 2022

The eleven members of the Boulder Faculty Assembly Diversity Committee met seven times in AY 2021-22 (three times in Fall and four times in Spring), supplemented by extensive email discussions.

In Fall 2021 the BFA sub-committee wrote and passed one resolution:

Resolution Regarding Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion and Faculty Merit Evaluation BFA-R-1-10.18.21. The Boulder Faculty Assembly approved Resolution BFA-R-1-081020 in October 2021.

https://www.colorado.edu/bfa/resources/bfa-resolutions-motions-reports

This was followed by meetings and correspondence with Michelle Moses and her team regarding implementation of the resolution, including piloting and testing of the FRPA DEI component.

In Fall 2021 we met with Senior Vice Chancellor for DEI Sonia DeLuca Fernandez, to discuss guidelines and best practices for departments and units for DEI and FRPA merit, as charged in the subcommittee resolution:

"The diversity committee of the BFA shall create a Best Practices, Resources, and Considerations document to guide units in their deliberations over DEI in merit reviews to be completed by spring of 2022 and revised thereafter as needed."

This was followed by our committee exploring the guidelines at AAU and peer institutions.

Also in Fall 2021, the committee reviewed the Affirmative Action Plan for Affirmative Action Officer David Pacheco.

In Spring 2022 the committee wrote the resolution: *Recommended Guidelines for Incorporating DEI Work in Annual Faculty Merit Evaluations BFA-R-1-02.28.22*, which was passed by the General Assembly in April 2022.

Also in Spring 2022, we met with the Office of Faculty Affairs and served as a focus group for FRPA DEI and faculty merit evaluation.

In April 2022 we discussed the recommendations from OFA for how to quantify FRPA DEI reporting for possible future use in ARPAC and reappointment/tenure, (for both quantitative and qualitative reports).

In Spring 2022, Andrea Feldman (Chair) served as BFA representative to the IDEA Council, attending biweekly meetings with ODECE and the IDEA council, and reporting back for input from the Diversity Committee.

Committee Composition

The Diversity Committee shall have a minimum of eight faculty and two student members, and may choose additional members, subject to approval by the Executive Committee, to ensure sufficient membership to address specific issues and concerns as they arise.

Administrative Liaison

The administrative liaison for the Diversity Committee is the Office of Diversity, Equity, and Community Engagement.

Interface with other Committees

The Diversity Committee shall interface with the ASC Diversity Committee on a regular basis, with a member of the ASC serving as an additional administrative liaison. As needs or opportunities arise, the Diversity Committee will invite members of other governance bodies and/or their relevant committees to attend Diversity Committee meetings as a non-voting resource member. (e.g., Diversity officers from Schools and Colleges).

Committee Members:

Andrea Feldman (Chair) Teaching Professor of Distinction, PWR

Natalie Avalos, Assistant Professor, Ethnic Studies

Amanda Stewart, Teaching Assistant Professor, Sociology

Deb Palmer, Professor, Education

Julio Sepúlveda, Assistant Professor, Geological Sciences

Manuel Lladser, Associate Professor, Applied Mathematics

Kathryn Goldfarb, Assistant Professor, Anthropology

David Slayden, Associate Professor, Advertising, Public Relations, and Media Design

Resource Members:

Patricia Gonzalez, Associate Dean, College of Arts and Sciences

Alphonse Keasley, DIVC Faculty Resource Member

Fernando Guzman, Dean of Diversity and Inclusion, Law School